David Steele Memorial Scholarship

We seek to help an Ashland High School graduating senior with a scholarship to enable them to pursue a career in public service. A new scholarship will be available each year, starting in 2011. The amount will vary each year depending on how invested funds perform. The fund is managed by Edward Jones, to be used exclusively for the David Steele Scholarship Fund.

David Steele graduated from Ashland High School in the Class of 2007. While at Ashland High School, David played football and rugby and enjoyed learning in hands-on classes. He joined Grayback Forestry as a wildland firefighter and enrolled in Central Oregon Community College in Bend, OR, to study structural fire science and pursue his emergency medical technician certification. While fighting a fire in the Shasta-Trinity National Forest, David lost his life in a helicopter accident. We honor David’s memory with this scholarship.


  • Ashland High School graduating senior.
  • Plans to attend a community college, four-year college or trade school.
  • Will pursue a public service or health care degree or certification through career and technical education (CTE) . Examples include: EMS, EMT, Firefighter, Police Officer, Nurse, Medical Professional, Paramedic, Corrections Officer, Dispatcher, etc.
  • Minimum academic achievement: 3.00 GPA.

Upon acceptance of the grant, funds will be deposited at AHS and then sent directly to the school where the recipient chooses to attend.

For more information, please contact the Ashland High School Counseling Office. Phone: (541) 482-8771

Past Recipients

  • 2011 - Brent Hegdahl ($2,500)
  • 2012 - Ricardo Lujan ($1,000)
  • 2013 - Amanda Wurzell ($1,000)
  • 2014 - Nathaniel Baze ($1,000)
  • 2015 - Evan Anderson ($1,000)
  • 2016 - Jett Hamik ($1,000)
  • 2017 - Dale Fulton ($1,000)
  • 2018 - Laurana Steele and Jacqueline Tagui ($2,500 each)
  • 2019 - Baylor Wiggins and Abigail Fowler ($2,500 each)
  • 2020 - Ryanne Hill and William Morgan ($2,500 each)
  • 2021 - Bradley Jolliffe, Jordan Kemper, and Josh Eskenazi ($2,500 each)
  • 2022 - Olivia Schurr, Willow Williams, and Kiana Childs ($2,500 each)
  • 2023 - Danika Adair, Ava Code, Benjamin Block ($2,500 each)
  • 2024 - Ireland Hill, Samarpan Samuel Parcha, and Jacob Henderson ($2,500 each)
David Steele